This year’s SERVSIG Awards Ceremony was held virtually on June 11th, 2021 (watch the show here).
The following winners were announced and congratulated. Join us again in complimenting them, as well as the different awards finalists.
We are all thankful to the awards committees.

2021 SERVSIG Best Dissertation Award in Service Research Winner

Congratulations to Larissa Becker (Tampere University) and her supervisory team! She tells us about her doctoral research work here.
The SERVSIG Board is thankful to Maastricht University for sponsoring this award. Also thanks go to the independent award committee members who diligently worked on the selection process — Gianfranco Walsh (Chair), Josina Vink, Paul Fombelle, Kate Letheren, and Mohammad Zaki.
Congratulations to the runner up: Sungwoo Choi.
Read more and see previous winners of the award here.

2020 SERVSIG Best Service Article Award Winners

This award is presented annually to the author(s) of the best article in the service literature published during the previous calendar year (2020). This year, the award goes to:
Herhausen, D., Emrich, O., Grewal, D., Kipfelsberger, P., & Schoegel, M. (2020).”Face forward: How employees’ digital presence on service websites affects customer perceptions of website and employee service quality.” Journal of Marketing Research, 57(5), 917–936. 

Congratulations are in order as well to the two teams of finalists:
– De Keyser, A., Verleye, K., Lemon, K. N., Klaus P., & Keiningham, T. L. (2020) “Moving the Customer Experience Field Forward: Introducing the Touchpoints, Context, Qualities (TCQ) Nomenclature.” Journal of Service Research, 23(4), 433-455. 
Zeithaml, V. A., Verleye, K., Hatak, I., Koller, M., & Zauner, A. (2020). “Three decades of customer value research: paradigmatic roots and future research avenues.” Journal of Service Research, 23(4), 409-432.

SERVSIG thanks the award committee members for their commitment and their work — Amy Ostrom (Chair), Martin Fritze, Andrew Gallan, and Stefanie Paluch.
See previous award winners (and links to guest posts) here.

2021 SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award Winner

This annual award recognizes contributions to advancing the study of service research and it is given to honor the contributions of a researcher in the earlier stages of their academic career. This year, the Emerging Service Scholar Award Winner is Lena Steinhoff (University of Rostock)! Congratulations!
Many thanks to the University of Porto for sponsoring the award (cash prize) and the committee members — Lia Patricio (Chair), Linda Hollebeek, Jan Schumann, and Ilana Shanks.
See previous award winners here.

2021 Christopher Lovelock Career Contributions Award Winner

This award is presented annually to the individual whose career in teaching, research and service have had the greatest long-term impact in terms of significance and frequency for the development of the service discipline during the last 15 to 20 years. In 2021, winner of the “Christopher Lovelock Career Contributions to the Services Discipline Award” is Jim Spohrer (International Society of Service Innovation Professionals)! Bravo!
The SERVSIG board is also very thankful to this year’s committee members for their commitment and their work — Stephen Vargo (chair), Cécile Delcourt, Thorsten Gruber, Anu Helkkula, and Yuliya Komarova.
Read more about the award (and Chirstopher Lovelock), as well as the previous winners here.