We would like to request nominations for

SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award 2018
granted by the University of Porto

SERVSIG and the University of Porto are proud to present the Emerging Service Scholar Award. This award recognizes contributions to advancing the study of service research, and will be given annually to honor the contributions of a researcher in the earlier stages of his or her academic career. The SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award launched in 2015 and will be presented at the 27th Frontiers in Service Conference in Austin. The award includes a cash prize and is sponsored by the University of Porto.

The award includes a cash prize of $1000, plaque and spotlight features on the SERVSIG website & newsletter and other publications.

Last year winner – Martin Mende with Clay Vorhees, chair of the committee


Recipients of the SERVSIG Emerging Service Scholar Award should have their doctoral degree up to 10 years prior to the year of the award or be nominated for the award in the last two years. Other eligibility issues:

– Candidates for a SERVSIG Award do not have to be a member of SERVSIG or the AMA to be eligible to win.

– Candidates may be from anywhere in the world. Since its inception, SERVSIG has sought to be globally oriented and globally active.

SERVSIG would like to thank the following members for their willingness to serve on this committee:

  • Chair: Martin Mende (mmende@fsu.edu)
  • Liliana Bove
  • Kristina Heinonen
  • Chatura Ranaweera
  • Kimmy Wa Chan

Selection Process:

Each year, SERVSIG appoints a panel of scholars to serve as the selection committee. The panel solicits nominations from the service community and selects the recipient of the award. Criteria to be used to determine contribution include innovation, methodological rigor, and both current impact and future potential to substantially advance service research. Once nominated, the nominee will automatically be included in the consideration set for the award for the subsequent two years without the need for re-nomination.


To nominate a candidate for the award, nominators should provide:

– A nomination letter (two pages maximum length; self-nominations are also acceptable).
– A current vita for the nominated scholar or a web link to an online vita.
– No more than three publications representative of the nominee’s contributions.
– All material needs to be submitted electronically.

If you would like to nominate someone for the Emerging Scholar Award please email the committee chair Martin Mende (mmende@fsu.edu) no later than March 15th.

We look forward to receiving your nominations soon!

Lerzan Aksoy and Bart Larivière